Garment District Extravaganza!!!

Hello everyone!! Happy Wednesday! So today’s post is going to be about my trip to the garment/ Fabric district in LA. If you read my recent blog post about the Mimi G Conference, you read that I took a fabric trip on Sunday! As I mentioned, I was planning to do a separate blog post for the garment district because it was so amazing, that it needed its own post!! So this post is very picture-heavy so be prepared! (I do apologize, I did not get all the names of the fabric stores.)

So the 1st fabric store I visited was Michael Levine’s. I picked up about a few pieces of fabric, but my goal was to save money for the rest of the district. Last year, I spent all my time in there, I did not need to do that again. Below are the pictures from Michael Levine’s.

IMG_4810

IMG_4811

IMG_4812

IMG_4814

IMG_4815

IMG_4817

IMG_4818

IMG_4819

IMG_4821

IMG_4822

IMG_4824

IMG_4825

I spent $30 in Michael Levine’s and was throughly pleased with my selections. The prices were amazing, plus our additional 20% off discount for the Mimi G Conference. I always love coming here because of the amazing fabrics!

The next place I went to visit was called the Loft. It’s part of Michael Levine’s. If you’re unfamiliar with the Loft, please get familiar with it! The fabric is $3 a pound!!! Yes you read that right! Here are some pictures below:

IMG_4833

IMG_4834

IMG_4836

IMG_4838

IMG_4840

In total, I spent about $10 here!!! I got so many different knits and cotton prints, they were super pretty! I did not do as much damage as last year, however I did come back with probably the same amount of fabric lol.

The next place I visited was a fabric place called Natan Fabric Inc. This place had so really cool fabrics. I got some fabrics from there but not a lot because I was on a tight budget. The place had fabric bots inside and outside the store. It was overwhelming but yet, still so amazing. Take a look below at the pictures of this beautiful fabric store.

IMG_4889

IMG_4887IMG_4883

The next place I visited was my favorite one! ALL THE FABRIC WAS $1.99!!! This place was small, but I still got the fabric I was looking for! I didn’t take a lot of pictures of this store, because I was way too preoccupied looking at the fabric in there! I actually got some really pretty floral prints from here that you’ll see in future DIY posts!

IMG_4854

IMG_4857

The next place I visited was called Angel Textiles! This place is massive! I didn’t get any fabric from here because I was way too overwhelmed by what was there. In all honesty, I would probably have to spend the whole day in there and actually look at all the fabrics. I absolutely loved it in there!! I wish I had more time to look in there at the choices! Take a look below!:

IMG_4899IMG_4897IMG_4896IMG_4894

This next 2 stores was pretty nice as well. I loved their selection. One thing I noticed, is that all fabric stores in the garment district, have different selections. You will not find the same fabrics in each store, which I can appreciate. Some of the prices ranged from .99 to $5, which is still such a great bargain! Take a look at some of the pictures below:

IMG_4843IMG_4844IMG_4846

IMG_4859IMG_4860IMG_4863IMG_4865IMG_4867IMG_4869IMG_4871IMG_4874IMG_4875IMG_4876IMG_4878

Last but not least! The notions store!! I was walking for blocks and asked so many people where the notions store was and no one knew! I was very irritated (not going to lie). Until, I heard the choir sing!! I finally found the store!!! GOLDEN CUTTING & SEWING SUPPLIES! I am super obsessed with this store. I went last year but couldn’t stay long, so I knew that this was going to be the year I stay and buy somethings! I spent a good $50 total, and I have no regrets! When you all look at these photos, you’ll see why:

IMG_4903IMG_4900IMG_4901IMG_4905IMG_4906IMG_4907IMG_4908IMG_4910IMG_4911IMG_4912IMG_4915IMG_4914IMG_4917IMG_4918IMG_4919IMG_4922

THEY HAVE EVERYTHING!!!!!


Planning on visiting the fabric district? Here are my important tips to make your trip economical and affordable!

  1. Bring a suitcase/luggage for fabric. (It’s always nice to have a suitcase to put your fabric in. While you’re walking around it great for easy traveling purposes.)
  2. Get there early! (The garment district shopping will most likely take all day. Get there early so you can find a good parking space.)
  3. Have a car! (I’ve learned from experience that it’s so much easier to have a car. Having a place to keep your fabrics while you shop is great! Parking was about $5-$10.)
  4. Bring cash! (Most of the fabric stores do not take credit/debit cards. Plus they have ATMs there, but that transaction fee is a BIG NO!)
  5. Everything is negotiable! (While at the notions store, I bought a walking foot that was originally $20. I paid $16 for it. If they like you, they’ll bring the prices down!)

I will be planning another trip to LA real soon. I think LA will become a yearly trip for me🤔.

You all have a great rest of your day! See you all again for another blog post!

9d884443-b9a3-449c-be5a-03a56c370c6c

2 thoughts on “Garment District Extravaganza!!!

  1. Sis, come back to LA soon. We’ll go fabric and notion shopping together. I loved this post and you took some really fantastic shots. Keep it up!

Leave a Reply

